Today was the filing deadline to run for Representative of City District 2 to replace Alexsandra Annello.

Rep. Annello recently announced her resignation, since she is running for Texas House District 77 against Norma Chavez and Vince Perez.

The District 2 special election will be held on December 9 and will be a four-candidate race: Josh Acevedo, VerĂ³nica Carbajal, Judy Gutierrez, and Ben Mendoza.

Acevedo is EPISD Trustee of District 3 and worked previously for Commissioner David Stout.

Carbajal is a prominent attorney and advocate for progressive causes and social justice.

Gutierrez stands for whatever the Oligarchy stands for.

And Mendoza is, well… Mendoza.

We have opinions about these candidates but will withhold them in order to allow the four of them to articulate their positions publicly.